Board Members

As a 501-C-3 not for profit corporation, the WIB is governed by a board of directors.  The board represents key targeted industry sectors to provide leadership in economic prosperity for Southwest Missouri and to assure that the needs of business are represented in the administration of the region’s workforce system.  Public sector members provide guidance on career services from the perspective of the workforce system and strategic partnerships.  The WIB strives for equity in representing each county in the WIB’s seven-county service region.

Members of the board join Monett leaders for a ribbon cutting at the Monett Job Center in August of 2012Officers

  • Chair: Mark Eliff, Carthage Chamber of Commerce
  • Secretary: Rhonda Stafford, Regal-Beloit America, Inc.
  • Treasurer: Stephanie Howard, Carthage Water and Electric

Business Members

  • Jim Armstrong, Daniel Cowin Construction, LLC
  • Alan Brady, CFI
  • Brad Baker, US Bank (Past Chair)
  • Sharon Dempsey, General Dynamics
  • Tom Sears, Arvest Bank
  • Derek Cooper, Cooper Gear & Manufacturing
  • Corin Berryhill, Sprouls General Construction
  • Amanda Dilley, Integrity Home Care & Hospice
  • Jennifer Essex, Ducommun
  • Nanda Nunnelly, NextGen Diagnostics Services

Public Sector Members

  • Linda Dishman, Joplin AEL
  • John Phillips, Carpenters Union
  • Derick Barnes, Laborers Union
  • Shiloh Cooper, Preferred Employment Services
  • Amber Davis, TANF/MWA
  • Mardy Leathers, Missouri Division of Workforce Development
  • Kiersten Shamhart, Missouri Division of Vocational Rehabilitation
  • Melissa Smith, Crowder College
  • Gerritt Brinks, Harry S Truman Coordinating Council
  • Jane Hood, Southwest Missouri Council of Governments

More About the Board

If you’re ready to catch the vision and join the leadership of the region’s premiere workforce and economic development organization, there may be opportunities waiting for you! In addition to the Board of Directors, the WIB has several task force groups focused on strategic priorities.

Driving transformation. Innovations fueling tomorrow's Workforce System

The Board meets six times yearly at locations throughout the seven-county region. Board meetings typically start with brief committee breakout sessions followed by the main board session, all lasting usually less than three hours total.  Meeting notices and agendas for board events are posted online.

The WIB is not a working board in terms of typical non-profits that use their board members for fundraising and office support. Instead, board members are sought for their expertise and leadership ability. In addition to basic governance for the WIB, the board functions in a strategic think-tank and advisory capacity. Board committees include Executive, Youth, and Access. Committees that need to collaborate outside of a regular board meeting typically do so by conference call and email.

Per the Workforce Innovative Opportunity Act (the federal enabling legislation that funds the WIB), board members are appointed by local business associations to either the presiding commissioner of the local county or to the Chair of the Local Elected Officials Consortium of county presiding commissioners.

The WIB seeks leaders in targeted business sectors with a passion for workforce and economic development. WIB members are strategic “big picture” thinkers with strong connections to mutually-beneficial networks for the WIB. Leadership experience and unique talents are always helpful to equip the WIB with the best and brightest in board membership. For more information, contact Sherri Rhuems at the WIB via email at